Splitting Staff

It is often hard to rise above challenges and people who disrespect oneself. These two things can be the same thing, actually. It is challenging to rise above the situation when someone you care about disrespects you, even if they don’t realize they’ve done it.

Some people are wonderful people who I love beyond words. Of course, no one is perfect, myself included tenfold. But I don’t like “splitting staff,” as we called it in a place I lived when I was young.

What splitting staff means is that if you don’t get what you want from one person you go to another team member. Children do this to their parents. If Daddy says no, go to Mommy. If Mommy undermines daddy, it becomes a problem. This results in eventual mistrust, breaking up the team, and creating a tense environment.

If you are a team, you stand by each other, not behind nor in front of. You make promises, but only those you can keep. And you trust the other to do the same. If they don’t, forgive them. But don’t give up on your ideals. Try to do everything you can to believe in them after they’ve broken your trust. Tell them honestly how you feel. Trust that they will try to understand and either apologize and never break that trust again, or continue to break your trust.

What would you do?

About Karen Kincel - Author

I am an author. I am an advocate for Mental Illness Awareness and Animal Cruelty. I have two grown boys, a cat, and a horse, err....a Labmeraner (Lab/Weimeraner). I live with my husband in Panama City Beach, Florida. I am in love with laughter, and a mother who would rather die than see my kids suffer. Family is huge to me. Writing is my therapy, my catharsis, my escape. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them!
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment