Honor and Trust

Without trust, words become the hollow sound of a wooden gong. With trust, words become life itself. – John Harold

As an author, I have a different viewpoint on life, much like a photographer sees the world through a different lens. I can be driving down the street, see a kid on a sidewalk, squatting over something and poking it with a stick. Somehow, this scene replays in my mind, twisting and turning, until it becomes a story of a child poking a hole through the sidewalk to an alternate universe. What happens after that becomes a story.

Some say the art of writing is a blessing. Some, mostly writers, say it can also be a curse. Because we see things differently, sometimes it’s hard to convince others that what they think is not just. Not correct. Not fair. We tend to not want to argue. Debate is wonderful, because it’s a sharing of perspectives. Arguing is a game to win. I am certainly not a person who avoids conflict. However, I don’t feel that I should have to argue my point over and over. And, if I come to an agreement with someone, I trust that they will keep their word, just as I would. If they don’t, I’m disappointed and feel like they don’t value me enough to respect our agreement.

How do you feel about this? Do you count on people to keep their promises? How many times can you let it go before you give up? Do you confront the person who hurt you? Do you lose a little trust each time? Please comment below.

About Karen Kincel - Author

I am an author. I am an advocate for Mental Illness Awareness and Animal Cruelty. I have two grown boys, a cat, and a horse, err....a Labmeraner (Lab/Weimeraner). I live with my husband in Panama City Beach, Florida. I am in love with laughter, and a mother who would rather die than see my kids suffer. Family is huge to me. Writing is my therapy, my catharsis, my escape. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them!
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

