Busy busy busy

I realized it’s been a while since I’ve blogged about anything, and I’ve yet to start on my third book, although I have a plot line in my head. Life is just too crazy sometimes. A month ago tomorrow I started a new consulting job three hours from home and was facing driving back and forth every week. I was hoping it could become remote, and it could have – after three long winter months of putting miles on my car and spending too much time on the road. So…I made the decision to just move to Des Moines where the job is. Why not? It’s going to be a year long gig, so getting a lease for a year was perfect timing. Right?

Easier said than done. I had “stuff” in storage in Kansas City, stuff at the house where I was living before Des Moines, and my son’s “stuff” also in my storage unit in Kansas City. We made the fastest move EVER! Last Saturday we rented a truck, met friends and my oldest son at the storage unit, grabbed what I thought was mine with the exception of my washer and dryer, which will go to whichever son needs it first or most. Unfortunately, I also ended up with some of the stuff I had given my youngest son for his next place (he’s moving back to KC in a month or two so I left his stuff in storage).

Then, off to the house in Northern Missouri to get my living room and bedroom furniture and pack the rest of the truck with clothes, boxes, and other miscellaneous items I had there. As we finished loading, the winter wind picked up and the temperature dropped. Little did we know, a storm system was moving in just south of us (my sister, who lives 20 miles away, got four inches of snow that day). We missed it by mere minutes.

Three hours later I was greeted at our new place by five of my old (no pun intended) friends who came to help unload. I grew up in Des Moines and still have a lot of really good friends here. I realized that this will be the absolute last time I move my own stuff. I’m just too old and out of shape! I’ll watch the cute college boys flex their muscles next time, instead of looking for a heating pad for mine. Ha!

Life in an apartment certainly takes getting used to after living in houses or townhouses for the last 20 years or so. I don’t mind – when my son is gone it will just be me and my cats bouncing around the house. I might even become a crazy cat lady – that might be fun! I chose an apartment because, although I love yard work, last year I threw my rotator cuff out just mowing the lawn. I figure I’ll just fill my balcony with plants come Spring. Also, with an apartment I won’t have to worry about maintenance, but they won’t be here much because I loathe them coming into my house without me here.

I still haven’t figured out how to arrange my living room the way I want it, and I’m still going through boxes, but it is getting easier and homier each day. I’m looking forward to slowly finding pieces I like for the new place. It’s a great time to start from scratch and build a home in which I can surround myself with things I love. I think I’m going to be okay 🙂

What I really want to know is, what type of home do you have, and how do you like it? Where do you live, and for how long? Oh, and one more thing…do you want to come unpack for me?

About Karen Kincel - Author

I am an author. I am an advocate for Mental Illness Awareness and Animal Cruelty. I have two grown boys, a cat, and a horse, err....a Labmeraner (Lab/Weimeraner). I live with my husband in Panama City Beach, Florida. I am in love with laughter, and a mother who would rather die than see my kids suffer. Family is huge to me. Writing is my therapy, my catharsis, my escape. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them!
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

