I lost my best friend today…

Benny has been my constant companion, best friend, and most faithful “man” in my life for 10 years. He’s moved all over the country with me, never questioning my reasons. He was always there when I was happy, to play and romp. He was there in some of my darkest moments, to let me hug and cry on him, while giving me soft kisses on the cheeks.

Two weeks ago he got sick. I thought it was a passing phase and did everything I could to make him feel better. Today, we found out he had an aggressive, inoperable cancer tumor that had completely enveloped his prostrate and bladder. Within a few hours, my sons and I were saying our goodbyes, and I held him and looked into his eyes as he passed from this world.

Now, I have to get used to his absence. He won’t be there to greet me after a long day, ready for a hug and kiss. He won’t be there to share my dinner. He won’t be there to sleep next to me at night, my hand on his side to help me get to sleep. My heart aches so much for Benny. I know he’s gone to a better place, but it hurts so much. Benny, I know you’re watching over me and my kids and I hope I see you on the other side.

Karen Benny 2011 Benny and me Benny dog park 3 Benny puppy

About Karen Kincel - Author

I am an author. I am an advocate for Mental Illness Awareness and Animal Cruelty. I have two grown boys, a cat, and a horse, err....a Labmeraner (Lab/Weimeraner). I live with my husband in Panama City Beach, Florida. I am in love with laughter, and a mother who would rather die than see my kids suffer. Family is huge to me. Writing is my therapy, my catharsis, my escape. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them!
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I lost my best friend today…

  1. Sorry to hear that 😦

    Like

    • Karen Kincel says:

      Thank you. I still can’t look at pictures of him without crying. I put his ashes next to the ashes of our dog before him on the shelf in our new living room tonight, along with his collar (I had to shake it and make the tags tinkle like when he walked) and his favorite bone. I miss him a lot 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

