Supporting Indie artists

So, you spend weeks, months, years, writing that book you’ve had in your head, driving you crazy. FINALLY it’s out and on paper (or in digital form). There aren’t many things that equal the feeling you get when you hit that final “Submit” button (except that very first sale). Woohoo! Your book is published! People will read your stories and will be asking for more! You’re going to be rich and famous!

Well, all but that last sentence. I am absolutely thrilled that sales of Westwind Drive and Forever have increased exponentially with the release of Westwind Drive. It’s a great feeling when someone says, “I bought your book and I can’t wait to read it!” I love it when someone asks me to autograph a book for them (and they’ll pay shipping both ways!).

But rich? Not likely, unless by chance one of my books becomes a best seller. My initials are KK, not JK, if you get my drift. For each paperback book you buy for $12.00 I make about $2.50. And famous? The only way that will happen is if I give away 10 million copies of my books – maybe then I’ll make the news for a day. Don’t count on that, by the way.

So, next time you think the cost of a book or ebook is too high, please consider the time, sweat, thought, research, writing, rewriting, pouring out one’s soul, editing, editing again, formatting, publishing, printing, and shipping. Please support Indie artists and we’ll keep showing you what’s in our heads. Thank you.

About Karen Kincel - Author

I am an author. I am an advocate for Mental Illness Awareness and Animal Cruelty. I have two grown boys, a cat, and a horse, err....a Labmeraner (Lab/Weimeraner). I live with my husband in Panama City Beach, Florida. I am in love with laughter, and a mother who would rather die than see my kids suffer. Family is huge to me. Writing is my therapy, my catharsis, my escape. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them!
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

