A year in the life of an author

For those of you who are authors, I know you’ll be able to relate to this and maybe even add to it. Please feel free in the comments. For those who are NOT authors, let me just give you a year in my life as an author.

I come up with a “what if,” a basic idea, for a story. I write it down and put it somewhere on the mess that is my desk. Or in the console of my car if I’m out and about. Or in my purse if I’m out and about. Or on my nightstand if I’m in bed. Pretty much wherever I am.

I have a day job as a consultant, so I get up every morning, Monday through Friday, and go to work. Every day I learn something new, teach someone something new, or write something new. Most of the time it’s very dry work. Sometimes really exciting, though!

I come home from work, make dinner and do all the same things everyone else does, so I won’t bore you with that.

In the meantime, after everything is done I sit down at my computer and start writing. Ideas flow. I expand on that idea I tossed on the table. Gradually, plots come together. Twists come out of nowhere. I research. A lot. I get excited about hitting 20,000 words. I get excited at 50,000 words, etc., ad nauseam.

Day by day, month by month, a book forms. Characters come alive and start telling ME what to write (really, it happens). Plot twists change the story. At the end, the story is not the one I began writing. And that’s okay. It’s better.

Finally, the book is ready to edit. And edit. And edit. Give it to people I trust to read and give me feedback. Edit some more. Eventually, I have come to almost hate the book. It has consumed me. I edit some more.

Then, publishing day comes. After formatting for ebooks and paperback, I’m back to being very excited. My thoughts are going to go out there for everyone to read! I don’t expect to be any Stephen King, but it wasn’t about the money anyway. I market myself and my book like crazy – almost more hours a day than I work at my day job. I work REALLY HARD, in other words. I just hope someone, somewhere, likes it and tells a friend.

Then, it starts all over again.

https://www.facebook.com/karenkincelauthor

Westwind Drive: http://amzn.to/1DfXOK3

Forever: http://bit.ly/Amazonpaperback

About Karen Kincel - Author

I am an author. I am an advocate for Mental Illness Awareness and Animal Cruelty. I have two grown boys, a cat, and a horse, err....a Labmeraner (Lab/Weimeraner). I live with my husband in Panama City Beach, Florida. I am in love with laughter, and a mother who would rather die than see my kids suffer. Family is huge to me. Writing is my therapy, my catharsis, my escape. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them!
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A year in the life of an author

  1. Reblogged this on ExcellentJack's Excellent Blog and commented:
    Exactly what I’m striving for (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

