Correction to Brian Roemmelle

Normally I don’t write about my illness on any blog that I use for my books. However, I’m getting very frustrated with the media and “experts” using Bipolar Disorder as an excuse for everything from violent crimes to inappropriate behavior.

Let me clear something up. Bipolar people are not normally the people who commit mass murders. We are, for the most part, suicidal, not homicidal. “Bipolar people” are usually able to lead successful lives, as evidenced by such celebrities as Vivian Leigh, Jean Claude Van Damme, Vincent Van Gogh, and Virginia Woolf.

Today, I read an article on Quora that, once again, irritated me so much I have to get this out. Here’s a link to the article: Does It Take 21 Days to Break a Habit. I apologize in advance for my fervor.

Now I would like to reply to this “researcher’s” answer.

@BrianRoemmele Just read article on breaking habits that you wrote. You’re wrong. This is why people don’t understand mental health issues. Since you did your research so well (you looked it up on Wikipedia – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Plutchik), I will point out that you added one important word to your sentence about eight primary emotions. BIPOLAR. That word is NOT in the Wikipedia for one good reason. Bipolar people do not have any emotions that other people do not have. We are the same, with one difference. Call it a curse or a blessing. We feel everything much deeper.

Anyone can call themselves a researcher simply by posting an answer based on researching Wikipedia. I don’t know anything about you, because I did not Wiki your name. I don’t want to know. If you’re a researcher, your answer is wrong and you should be ashamed for not doing your homework properly. I don’t know what possessed you to add the term “bipolar” to your response. As a writer, I’m ashamed of people like you who use the term bipolar to explain anything you don’t understand.

PLEASE educate yourself somewhere other than Wikipedia before you throw around mental health terms with such abandon.

Now I’ll step off my soapbox and let you, my readers, take the floor. Does anything irritate you so much you have to stand up and speak? Do you have any questions (or misconceptions) about Bipolar Disorder?

About Karen Kincel - Author

I am an author. I am an advocate for Mental Illness Awareness and Animal Cruelty. I have two grown boys, a cat, and a horse, err....a Labmeraner (Lab/Weimeraner). I live with my husband in Panama City Beach, Florida. I am in love with laughter, and a mother who would rather die than see my kids suffer. Family is huge to me. Writing is my therapy, my catharsis, my escape. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them!
This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

