New puppies, new babies

I have two new things in my life now…and both are exciting! Saturday night I got to witness my sister’s dog give birth to five healthy puppies. I’ve never seen puppies being born before, and it was exciting and scary (first time Mommy wasn’t happy), but it also made me realize how amazing our bodies are. The animal kingdom and the human kingdom have the amazing ability to reproduce and create life. How awesome is that?

As you may have read in an earlier post, I’m going to be a first time grandmother. When I had my kids I asked for girls both times I was pregnant and the “powers that be” chose to give me boys. This time, I’m getting a granddaughter! I hope she has my red hair. I’ve been told I can’t dress her up all girly, but they can’t really control what Grandma does when she’s babysitting, now can they? 😉

All this talk of babies makes me remember my grandparents. They were such loving, caring, funny, and smart people. My grandfather taught me to sing and to talk to anyone. Anyone. “A stranger is a friend you haven’t met yet,” was one of his grandpa-isms. Grandma taught me to cook, clean, hang laundry on the line for a fresh smell, and that bleach is your best friend. Her kitchen always smelled of bacon, eggs, cake, iced tea made on the stove, and potatoes in the double boiler, mixed with the smell of bleach in her washing machine (situated in the corner of the kitchen). To this day, I love the smell of rain because it brings back memories of running out to grab the sheets off the line before a Midwest storm blew in.

Having grandchildren gives me ideas for my third book – but you have to read the first two first. Oh, the humanity! I have to wait until November to see my grandbaby, and you have to wait to find out what my third book will be about. Seems reasonable.

What exciting things have been happening in your life?

About Karen Kincel - Author

I am an author. I am an advocate for Mental Illness Awareness and Animal Cruelty. I have two grown boys, a cat, and a horse, err....a Labmeraner (Lab/Weimeraner). I live with my husband in Panama City Beach, Florida. I am in love with laughter, and a mother who would rather die than see my kids suffer. Family is huge to me. Writing is my therapy, my catharsis, my escape. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them!
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

