Parents and children

My siblings and I are at the age where our mother has become a child again. Her health is declining and she acts more like a five year old than her biological age. Today, we settled her into a nursing home (for the fourth time). It was so hard to walk away after kissing her and saying, “I love you, Mom.”

At the same time, one of my sons has moved in with his girlfriend and my youngest son is saving to get an apartment with a friend. I’m getting the empty nest syndrome. I’m also realizing that our generation is next, and wondering what my sons will do with me when the time comes that I’m unable to care for myself. I can only hope that they make a decision with which they can live and that they won’t feel bad. I don’t think any parent ever wants to be a burden to their kids.

It’s funny how the circle of life turns. Our parents raise us, we raise our kids, then we care for our parents until they cross over. If you still have parents alive, cherish the moments with them, because if you don’t, the time will come that you will wish you could say “I love you Mom/Dad” one more time. Cherish, too, the time you have with your children, because someday they will move on with their lives and you can only hope you’ve done a good job raising them to be strong, successful adults who are happy with their lives.

And don’t forget, they will be the ones making the decisions for you when you’re unable, so be nice! 🙂Image

About Karen Kincel - Author

I am an author. I am an advocate for Mental Illness Awareness and Animal Cruelty. I have two grown boys, a cat, and a horse, err....a Labmeraner (Lab/Weimeraner). I live with my husband in Panama City Beach, Florida. I am in love with laughter, and a mother who would rather die than see my kids suffer. Family is huge to me. Writing is my therapy, my catharsis, my escape. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them!
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

