Pay it Forward

I posted an ad on a facebook “Everything is Free” site, where people give stuff they don’t need to people who do. I got an amazing response on some clothes that no longer fit. But there’s more…

A woman wrote to me privately, asking very nicely for the clothes. She is in a shelter with her five children, ages 7 to 1. Five boys, two girls. She just recently lost her four year old son after he had heart surgery. She comes from an abusive home – oldest of 10 children. She is a product of rape, physical and emotional abuse. This woman was so forthright, I find it hard to not believe her. This weekend, Kymberli Hulett Boyd and I are going closet shopping and digging into old stuff to take to her and her babies. They need everything. The kids love books, too!

So, I propose to you this. This holiday season remember that no matter how bad we think we have it, there is always someone worse off. Find someone – anyone – to whom you can “pay it forward.” It doesn’t have to be money or anything big. Even a meal for a homeless guy at McDonalds. I dare you. It will change your life. Happy holidays.

About Karen Kincel - Author

I am an author. I am an advocate for Mental Illness Awareness and Animal Cruelty. I have two grown boys, a cat, and a horse, err....a Labmeraner (Lab/Weimeraner). I live with my husband in Panama City Beach, Florida. I am in love with laughter, and a mother who would rather die than see my kids suffer. Family is huge to me. Writing is my therapy, my catharsis, my escape. I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy writing them!
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

